Welcome to the Blue Coupe Reviews page!! Here I'll be gathering together all the Blue Coupe-related gig reviews, reports, images, clips - anything - that I've been sent to date.

So - have you got anything to contribute to this page? Reviews, missing gig support band/venue information, ticket stubs, posters, handbills etc etc - if so, let me .

 

 

2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016
Albert Bouchard

The Blue Coupe show in the Poconos was a great success. It was a sold out show of revelers ready to hear a slew of classic songs from a combo that was a terpsichorean dream finally realized. The stage banter was a series of stories about how songs came to be and close encounters of a famous kind.

Sound and lights were provided by local band Bad Influence who joined the Coupe onstage at the end of the second set for a multi-band jam. The projected north-easter never materialized and everyone got home happy, safe and sound.

Set 1:

  1. Under My Wheels
  2. Caught in a Dream
  3. Cities On Flame
  4. Fallen Angel
  5. Paint It Black
  6. Hot Time In Hell
  7. Astronomy
  8. I Ain't Got You
  9. All Along The Watchtower
  10. Burnin' for You
  11. I'm Eighteen
  12. Godzilla

Set 2:

  1. Kick Out the Jams
  2. Not Fade Away
  3. Break On Through
  4. Hey Joe
  5. Death Valley Nights
  6. I Wanna Be Sedated
  7. Roadhouse Blues
  8. Be My Lover
  9. School's Out
  10. Reaper

Encore with Bad Influence:

  1. Rock and Roll
  2. White Rabbit

Set 3:

  1. Honky Tonk Woman
  2. Knockin' On Heaven's Door
  3. Fire On the Mountain
  4. Little Kid
  5. I Think I Slept w/ Jackie Kennedy
  6. Joan Crawford Has Risen From the Grave
  7. Simple Man
  8. Johnny Be Good
JJT

Really nice show. Everyone there seemed to be having a good time. There was a mic problem at the beginning of the show when the band was doing Fallen Angel so Joe had to do an extended guitar bit, but otherwise, everything seemed to go off well.

On the topic of Joe, his guitar playing was excellent, and he especially shined (in my opinion) on Cities which he handled well. Al was beating the shit out of the drums and seemed to be having a good time doing it.

The band went on a little after 9pm and must have played for 2 1/2 hours with a brief intermission (I left about 12:30 am). After the show, the guys were really pleasant and took time for pics and autographs, etc. This was the 1st time I met Joe and he was great. This was the 2nd time I met Al, and I can say that he really seems to be a nice guy who isn't in any rush and takes alot of time while meeting with fans.

All in all, a great night. While Joe called this a "one off", I would love to see them again.

Quick Gig Facts

Here are some YouTube clips from this show:

DFFD

Great show all around from the NY Dolls and Tuff Darts, not so much from Frankenstein 3ooo.

The Dolls played 4 brand new tunes from the next LP, and were the loosest I've ever seen them, having a great time onstage.

Tuff Darts replaced the irreplaceable Jeff Salen with 3 new guys, and were calling it the Tuff Darts big band, adding keys and a sax to fill in with a new guitarist. Fun set.

F3K are fronted by one of the DJs on WRAT - so they got the 2nd spot for providing the advertising, but they aren't all that good.

3rd up, the Blue Scarlet Coop. After reading Joe was added, it was disappointing he only played on 3 tracks. Richie Scarlet is a decent player, but he's also a big ham. As they say in the film world, he was "chewing the scenery".

I call it "Heavy Metal Gladiating", paying as much attention to leaping about as playing. Still fun, but I wish the understated Mr JB would have gotten to step up a bit longer. Joe matched him lick for lick on Reaper, in fact played it truer to the original then Captain Scarlet;)

Great night, and thanks to Al for getting us in with VIP passes! No pics, they were being Nazis about it. Joe signed my CD, I told him not to write my name so I could sell it on Ebay later:) LOL!

Here's the setlist:

  1. She's Got Everything (Richie Scarlet vocals)
  2. Cities On Flame
  3. 18
  4. Moonage Daydream (Richie Scarlet vocals)
  5. Godzilla (DD did a long bass solo featuring a bunch of Alice licks)
  6. Black Juju (DD sing)
  7. Reaper (rest are with Joe)
  8. School's Out
  9. My Way Or The Highway (blues - Richie Scarlet vocals)
Patrick Brzezinski

The Canadian shows were just a blast ! Here's the Toronto - Silver Dollar setlist:

  1. Under My Wheels
  2. Burning for you
  3. Cities On Flame
  4. Nosferatu
  5. Be My Lover
  6. Red And The Black
  7. Caught In A Dream
  8. Black Juju
  9. I'm Eighteen
  10. Encore: School's Out / Kick Out The Jams / Don't Fear The Reaper
Chris Taggart

Amazing set last night in Toronto (The Silver Dollar Room)! Due to two rather lengthy sets by opening bands, they didn't play for long... but what they did was well worth the wait.

So worth it, I'm gonna drive for 2 hours tonight to see 'em again in Oshawa tonight as well...

Regarding the support acts, I came in just as the first band was finishing, so no details. The Outrageous Canadians were interesting... lots of vocal harmonies, and some interesting arrangements.

As for the setlist, the Cooper tunes stood out for me (I play in an Alice tribute band)...

Here are some clips of this gig from YouTube:

Patrick Brzezinski

Here's the Chicago's Diner setlist:

  1. Under My Wheels
  2. Tatoo Vampire
  3. Is It My Body
  4. Burning for you
  5. Cities On Flame
  6. Astronomy
  7. Vampire Night
  8. Hot Rails To Hell
  9. Love Is A Killer
  10. Dark Boat
  11. Be My Lover
  12. Red And The Black
  13. School's Out
  14. Encore 1 : I'm Eighteen - Godzilla - Don't Fear The Reaper
  15. Encore 2 : Born To Be Wild

Here are some clips of this gig from YouTube:

Here's a clip from this gig off YouTube:

Ralph

Was this a full Blue Coupe show?

Quick Gig Facts
Ralph

Here are some relevant YouTube links from this show:

Here are a couple of relevant links:

Here are some other YouTube links from this show which will open in a new window:

For more info on Gord Lewis/Teenage Head, click here

Ken

Saw them in Hamilton Ontario Sat. nite Aug.22 at "This Ain't Hollywood", and I'm still knocked out. Imagine seeing these guys and hearing all those songs live. WOW! What a show.

Bouchard's Outrageous Canadians opened with their 4 chick singers, and they were really good. Kudos to Joe and 'Bro for being so excellent, could only be topped by the original Alice Cooper band. Dennis Dunaway and Blue Oyster Cult?

Wow. What a treat! Can't say enough here. Can't wait to see 'em again.

FreakByNight

Blue Coupe rolled into town to play at the Elmdale House Tavern in Ottawa's old west end. The streets surrounding the tavern have been torn up all summer, the area looks like a bit of a war zone. How long does it take to pave a road?

It's difficult to get people out in this sleepy government city, especially on a Sunday night. I was worried the boys would be turned off by the low turnout, but Joe, Albert, Dennis, and Gord did not disappoint. A very loud and energetic performance consisting of Alice Cooper, BOC, and Teenage Head classics.

Joe handled almost all of the lead vocal duties and I was very impressed with his lead guitar showmanship! Not to be outdone, Albert, playing for his first time ever in Ottawa, was amazing on the drums and Dennis played incredible bass. The band was very tight and well-rehearsed.

Didn't write down the setlist, but highlights for me were "Cities on Flame", "Eighteen", "Dark Boat", "Tattoo Vampire", "Be My Lover", "Under My Wheels", "Black Ju Ju", "School's Out", "The Red and The Black", "Godzilla" and the Teenage Head classic "Let's Shake".

A five-star rating from me!

Ralph

Here are some YouTube links from this show (which will open in a new window):

Ralph

Here are some more clips from this show (will open in a new window):

Quick Gig Facts
John Berry

Blue Coupe and Acoustic Jukebox Infinity Hall Norfolk, CT 10-30-2009

Line-up:
Joe Bouchard-Guitars/Vocals
Albert Bouchard-Drums/Vocals
Dennis Dunaway-Bass/Vocals

Set 1:

  1. Be My Lover
  2. Burning for You
  3. Caught in a dream
  4. Is it my Body
  5. Nosferatu
  6. I'm Eighteen
  7. Under my Wheels

Set 2:

  1. The Red and The Black
  2. No more Mr. Nice Guy
  3. Astronomy
  4. Tattoo Vampire
  5. Cities on Flame
  6. Black Juju
  7. Godzilla
  8. School's Out
  9. Don't Fear the Reaper
Ralph

Here are some YouTube links from this show which will open in a new window:

By the way - for info on the Acoustic Jukebox setlist from this show, go to the Acoustic Jukebox Reviews page.

Jim Montague

I just saw Blue Coupe this past Saturday in Bordentown NJ. Great show. The place is so small so you are right on top of the band. Great for fans, not sure how the bands feel about it. I added some photos. Including setlist. The original setlist had Astronomy on it, they did Black JuJu instead.

Here's the setlist:

  1. Is it my body
  2. Burnin for You
  3. Cities on Flame
  4. No More Mr. Nice Guy
  5. Angel's Well- (This is a new song. they have an album/cd they are working on which they hope to have out this summer. They also said Robbie Kreiger was helping them out on the CD as well)
  6. Nosferatu
  7. Tatto Vampire
  8. Black JuJu
  9. Under my Wheels
  10. Godzilla
  11. Schools Out
  12. I'm 18
  13. Don't Fear the Reaper
Ralph

Here's a YouTube clip from this gig:

Ralph

Some YouTube clips from this show:

Here are some other YouTube links from this show:

Video

Here are some YouTube clips from this show:

Here's a link to some Flickr pics of this event:

John Berry

Rocking in the New Year with Blue Coupe at The Milbrook R & B, Joe, Dennis and Albert put on a great show along with special guest Richie Scarlet on 2 songs.

The first set was very long and lasted until midnight followed by a 30 minute break and the second set kicked off the New Year. 5 songs from their new album Tornado On The Tracks were played and very well done.

Set 1 (December 31st 2010):

  1. Under my wheels
  2. Be my Lover
  3. Burnin for you
  4. Cities on Flame(with rock n roll)
  5. You (Like Vampires)
  6. No More Mr. Nice Guy
  7. Caught in a Dream
  8. Black Juju
  9. Tornado Warning
  10. Dolphin's Smile (The Byrds)
  11. Is it my body
  12. Waiting for my Ship
  13. Astronomy
  14. Desperado
  15. Fallen Angel
  16. Eighteen
  17. Godzilla
  18. School's Out
  19. Blitzkrieg Bop (The Ramones)

Set 2 (January 1st 2011):

  1. Intro Rocking Robert on cowbell
  2. Don't fear the reaper
  3. Nosferatu
  4. Back Door Man - with Richie Scarlet
  5. Sedated (The Ramones)
  6. Angel's Well
  7. Voodoo Child
  8. Roadhouse Blues - with Richie Scarlet

The Band:
Joe Bouchard - guitar and vocals
Dennis Dunaway - bass and vocals
Albert Bouchard - drums and vocals

Here are some great YouTube clips from this gig:

Anton

Great show at R Bar. I did blow off the Dolls the night before. I ran into DFFD at the show - what a righteous guy! - he'd gone to Dolls show and said they were pretty awful, clearly hadn't rehearsed nearly enough with Earl Slick, Sylvain was giving him lessons mid-show.

Anyway, without further ado, from Joe's hand to mine to all of you:

  1. Be My Lover
  2. BFY
  3. COF
  4. Is It My Body?
  5. Angel's Well
  6. Fallen Angel
  7. Black Juju
  8. Tornado Warning
  9. You Like Vampires
  10. I'm 18
  11. Waiting For My Ship
  12. *(Nosferatu)
  13. School's Out
  14. DFTR
  15. *Godzilla
  16. encore: Under My Wheels

*Godzilla was not on the written setlist. I'm pretty sure they dropped Nosferatu to make room for it - I was trying to take notes and photos all evening and may have lost track of things while tweaking the camera settings, but I have no memory of hearing Nosferatu.

The singer from Bouchard's Outrageous Canadians did two songs with them, I think it was Waiting For My Ship and School's Out.

For the sound check, we were treated to short versions of Ain't Got You, a Dennis tune I didn't recognize, and Hot Rails.

More info on my blog here:

Quick Gig Facts
Quick Gig Facts
Ralph

There seems to have been little pre-publicity about this one and so if you have any more info on this, please let me know...

Quick Gig Facts
Joe Bouchard

Chiller is more of a social event than a concert.

I got to ask Gary Busey if he wanted to jam on Buddy Holly. He replied in his typical gruff tone "I think not!". Tony Clifton was a riot, Busey's son heckled him from the audience, and Tony threw a drink on him that landed on the mixer! Tony loved Blue Coupe's set however and was very friendly.

I asked Rudy to jam and he was intending to do it. How cool would it have been to have two bass players on Godzilla? Unfortunately he had a 6:30 AM flight to Vegas in the morning, and had to bow out early.

I asked Ellen Foley to sing with us, but she had to go back to the city by 7 PM. Next time she'll get a room and stay over. Call me Doc Music?

I asked Jane Wedelin to sing School's Out with us but she passed. The two numbers she did with the Elvi were great however.

We had intended to play Angel's Well in the set, but as the night wore on I decided to cut it out of the set. There were 4 other bands going on after us. The last didn't finish until 2 AM.

I signed a ton of autographs and CDs were selling briskly. Eddie Trunk saw the whole set and LOVED IT. BC on That Metal Show in the future?, there's a good chance.

That's the inside track. Next show, East Hampton LI May 14, we'll roll out more than the hits.

Joe Bouchard

Just for the record, here is the set list:

  1. Be My Lover
  2. Burnin' For You
  3. Angel's Well
  4. I'm 18
  5. Cities On Flame
  6. Astronomy
  7. Caught In A Dream
  8. Dolphin's Smile
  9. Under My Wheels
  10. Waiting For My Ship
  11. The Red & The Black
  12. You (like Vampires)
  13. Godzilla
  14. School's Out
  15. Reaper

No formal encore, we just played it straight through.

It was a strange gig, small turnout, but those who were there went bonkers. Godzilla is still the favorite.

There were many photos taken, videos and interviews will be posted.

The venue is a huge soundstage. The owner wants to build it into an ongoing summertime music venue.

With not much time to advertise and it being preseason in the Hamptons probably explains the small crowd.

Dennis said his wife took 8 videos of songs that came out great. We're starting to feel more confident with the new material. Tish and Snooki added great vocal backgrounds.

I'll post links to videos when I can.

That's the scoop.

Here are youTube links to some of the songs from this gig:

The above clips were all posted by Don Odell and designated as being played at "Don Odells Legends" with "very special guests fashion icons Tish & Snook".

However, also included were these extra songs - not included in Joe's setlist as provided above:

So - I'm a bit confused - are these clips from the Saturday 14 May 2011 gig at East Hampton Studio, Wainscot NY or are the Don Odell's clips a different gig...

Quick Gig Facts
Terry Rand

I was at the Blue Coupe Sacketts Harbor Maddison Barracks show on July 2, 2011. I'm sorry to say I don't remember the set list or the order. I do recall they opened with Fallen Angel though.

Joe and Albert are from Clayton New York, a few miles down the road from Sackets Harbor. I live a few miles down the road from that. It was a homecoming of sorts. They shot the video for Waiting For My Ship while they were up here.

During setup I was a little in awe to see my musical heros just hanging around so close to me. I was staring at Joe like a deer in the headlights and he gave me a friendly wave. A particular highlight for me was getting to finally meet Albert. He is a great guy. We had a little chat and I got a picture with him.

According to the blog on the Blue Coupe web site their time was limited by the stage manager. No encore either. Very unfortunate as they were certainly the class of that festival.

I was front and center for the show. It was unusually uncrowded in that area. I don't know if people were just layed back or if they didn't realize who these guys were. The headliners were The Spin Doctors.

I left after Blue Coupe played. Despite this and the oppressive heat and sun, the guys did an amazing show. You Like Vampires and Waiting For My Ship were definitely included.

I remember hearing Under My Wheels, Godzilla of course along with the Godzilla mask and also Burnin For You.

Hot Rails To Hell was a particular highlight for me as I had been subjected to "the new guy" doing this at BOC shows and it just isn't right. It's Joe's song!

Cities on Flame was in there. I remember during the "Marshall will buoy" lyric I made eye contact with Joe and pointed at his Marshall half stack. He gave me a nod of agreement. Joe played his Fernandes Strat copy, Dennis the Billion Dollar Bass and Albert had his black dw set of drums.

Joe had a couple of Marshall cabs and heads and Dennis was using an old Ampeg tube amp.

Quick Gig Facts
Joe Bouchard

I asked the promoter to put us in the middle of the show as there are 7-8 bands scheduled. My guess is we'll be on between 9:30 and 10 PM. it will be a short set, but it's nice to do something in memory of Ronnie.

Ronnie goes back to my earliest days as a musician in upstate NY. Long before Sabbath I saw him play many times.

We even shared the bill with Que Pasa, my college jazz band, once.

Mike Cairns

Great show...small venue. Dennis was stuck behind a large pole the entire night.

Set:

  1. Be My Lover
  2. Red & Black
  3. Under My Wheels
  4. Cities
  5. You Like Vampires
  6. Astronomy
  7. Caught in a Dream
  8. Hot Rails
  9. Waiting for my Ship
  10. Angel's Well
  11. Rip my Lips [ * with Gordie Lewis from Teenage Head ]
  12. Pipeline [ * with Gordie Lewis ]
  13. Teenage Beer [ * with Gordie Lewis ]
  14. Shake [ * with Gordie Lewis ]
  15. 18
  16. Godzilla
  17. School's Out
  18. Reaper

No encore today..I think 1am was the cutoff.

Rick

I just saw the band for the first time this past Saturday.

I've been a big Cooper fan for years, so I thought this was a great chance to meet Dennis Dunaway.

I did get to meet him, got my original copy of Billion Dollar Babies "Battle Axe" signed and even had his wife sign my old copy of "Love it to Death" (Costume designer)

Being from Hamilton, we were happy to see Gordy Lewis of Teenage Head fame listed as a special guest.

Little did we know, he would end up playing all night with them. This made the show rock even more when they played 3 of their songs.

Blue Coupe was awesome... I would definitely go see them again.

I've attached their set list. It's 100% accurate, minus the second song... (Another reason why you should never ask your wife to do something... she said it was something about a tyrant?)

Set list:

  1. Burnin' for You
  2. ?
  3. Cities on Flame
  4. Be My Lover
  5. The Red and the Black
  6. Is it My Body
  7. Kick out the Jams
  8. Caught in a Dream
  9. Astronomy
  10. You (Like Vampires)
  11. Tattoo Vampires
  12. Waiting For My Ship
  13. She Rips my Lips (Gordy Lewis – Teenage Head )
  14. Teenage Beer Drinking Party (Gordy Lewis –Teenage Head )
  15. I'm Eighteen
  16. The Party Starts Now
  17. Godzilla
  18. Schools Out
  19. (Don't Fear) The Reaper
  20. Let's Shake (Gordy Lewis –Teenage Head )
  21. Under My Wheels
mnc

Last night, the guys played in West Seneca, NY (suburb of Buffalo) at a club called Rhinos... best $8 I've ever spent...

From memory and incomplete:

Plus a couple of Teenage Head songs (not real familiar with their material) as their singer joined them on stage.

Mark

On the eve of Hurrican Irene, I made this show. One of the better decisions I've made (musically) in a long while. This show was so satisfying on so many levels for me. Some notes...

Joe Bouchard: I've NEVER seen him play guitar...just bass. And that was the mid '80's. I stood fairly upfront and center for Friday's show. Joe kicks major as on electric guitar. It was incredible. He was all over the fretboard. His voice was awesome on every tune he sang.

Dennis Dunaway: I've never seen him...nor have I seen Alice Cooper back in the day. (I've always regretted that.) Dennis plays bass on a super high level and looks like he's having a ball doing it. Great singing voice. Funny as hell talking to the crowd. He was playing an awesome looking custom Fender.

Albert Bouchard: What can I say? I've seen BOC about 30 times, but my first show...in '79...was the ONLY time I saw Al at the drum kit. And that has ALWAYS bothered me. Well, I'm all better now. NO ONE plays like him...he's unique. And when he sang COF on Friday night...me standing about 15 feet from him (couldn't have done that in '79) it was special. Like his brother, his voice has lost nothing.

Venue: Wasn't a huge room but the sound was damn good, at least to me. Loud.

Crowd: Not huge...I'm figuring less than 50...probably 35 to 40. Everyone there knew the lyrics to the Cooper tunes and the BOC tunes...and not always both. It was neat to see it. There were definitely folks there for the Cooper tunes and folks there for the BOC tunes. Made it kind of fun to watch the crowd. However, I doubt anyone left the show not loving every tune played.

Band In General: The three guys looked like they were having a huge amount of fun and really wanted to be there, which made the audience appreciate what they were seeing even more. After the show, they invited everyone to come right on the stage to say hi, sign stuff. I've never seen a band that made themselves that accessible after a show. Very cool.

Set List: Sorry...I can't remember every song. I'm hoping someone else who was there can post it. Some of my favorites were Fallen Angel, Tattoo Vampire, COF with Al singing. Joe sang most of the Cooper songs and he was stellar. And, THE NEW MATERIAL IS FANTASTIC!

All in all: the show had a very "fresh" feel to it. I'm thankful these guys are doing what they do. When they come back thru my area, I'll be there.

Joe Bouchard

It was super fun. Nice people sitting in, such as Goldie McJohn (Steppenwolf's organ master). Great mondo set list.

Ya wanna see the second set we played?

Click on "Blue Coupe" video. Some great songs and performances. Feel free to scan and pick and choose. The Pusher is one of my personal favs. I hope to work with Goldy again.

I don' t know what happened to the video of the first set, but that had great moments too.

What songs you ask?

Set 1:

  1. Angel's Well
  2. Under My Wheels
  3. Be My Lover
  4. You (like Vampires)
  5. Cities On Flame
  6. Astronomy
  7. Caught In A Dream
  8. Waiting for My Ship
  9. Fallen Angel
  10. Is It My Body?
  11. Dark Boat
  12. Black Juju
  13. Hot Rails to Hell
  14. Rock Me (Goldy enters)
  15. Pipeline-Wipeout
  16. Burnin' For You (w/ Andrew Charles Hilfiger on guitar)
  17. Born to Be Wild (w/ Jimmy Kunes from Cactus on vocals)

Set 2:

  1. Red and The Black
  2. The Party Starts Now! (With Andy S.)
  3. Pusher
  4. Sookie
  5. I'm 18
  6. Godzilla
  7. School's Out
  8. Reaper

E: 2 Blues songs with Joe Louis Walker and then Magic Carpet Ride

Sonya Alexander

On November 2, Blue Coupe cruised into music haven Iridium Jazz Club and performed two sets, giving the audience what they came for...and more with their high-energy, no-holds-barred performance. The band is comprised of music legends Albert and Joe Bouchard (founding members of Blue Oyster Cult) and Dennis Dunaway (founding member of the Alice Cooper Band).

They had a few special guests who joined them on stage, jazzing up already jazzy sets; those guests were Goldy McJohn (original keyboardist for Steppenwolf), Andy Hilfiger, Andy Shernoff, and award-winning bluesman Joe Lewis Walker. At one point, the tiny stage was packed to the brim, every musician giving it 110%.

What makes the Iridium such a lovely venue to see music at, besides its cozy vibe, is seeing your favorite musicians up-close-and-personal. Because this is Les Paul's baby, musicians often seem quite comfortable and relaxed performing there; Blue Coupe was no exception. They seemed nothing short of joyous to be performing their classic hits in the legendary venue.

The "angry orphans," as dubbed by Joe Bouchard, ended the first set with crowd favorites, Blue Oyster Cult's "I'm Burnin' for You" and Steppenwolf's "Born to Be Wild." The second set was chocked full of their pyschedelic classics "The Pusher," "Sookie, Sookie," "I'm Eighteen," "Schools Out for Summer," "Godzilla," and "Don't Fear the Reaper."

Albert Bouchard donned a large, furry Godzilla mask during the song of the same name, displaying his drumming dexterity by playing with the obstruction on. His drumming was fire, he never missed a beat! Joe Bouchard is an entertaining frontman, funny and energetic, an Ever-Ready rock'n'roll bunny.

All members performed like it was their first time doing the songs, fresh and with lots of conviction. They ended the kinetic set with sizzling blues numbers, "Baby, What's Wrong with You?" and "T-Bone Blues," Joe Lewis Walker on lead vocals. His voice was made for the blues: sharp, soulful, poignant.

Iridium had a healthy-sized crowd that knew all the songs and really got into the infectious groove of Blue Coupe. The band rolls down the highway of hard-driving, memorable, classic rock songs; it's a ride worth catching.

from the "NY Classic Rock Examiner November 5, 2011"

Joe Bouchard

Thanks to all who came to Bowery Electric last night. Especially all the friends who sat in like Andy Shernoff, JP Patterson, Andy Hilfiger, Jimmy Kunes, and Ross the Boss. The Sic F*ck sisters sang like angels. Love it!

Here's the set list for the score keepers. We planned more songs, but once the jammin started, we couldn't get back to the regular set. Enjoy!

  1. Hot Rails to Hell
  2. Caught In A Dream
  3. You (like Vampires)
  4. Burnin' For You
  5. Angel's Well
  6. Under My Wheels
  7. Nosferatu
  8. Sympathy for the Devil
  9. I'm 18 (w Kunes) w/ J.P.
  10. The Party Starts Now w/Ross w/ J.P.
  11. Cities On Flame
  12. Is it My Body?
  13. School's Out
  14. Godzilla
  15. Reaper
  16. E: Red and The Black
  17. E: Be My Lover
  18. E: Sedated
Mike Cairns

The rock pile is a great place for local bands, and they frequently grab some big names too. My friend and I got there around 8:30 in a snowstorm (which would later taper off and become freezing rain!).

Pretty dead in there when we got there. We were just in time for the opening band "Reverse Grip" which were an 80's type anthem-metal band. Young guys, but dressed quite 80's (think denim Bon-Jovi era) I had a beer.

Next up was "Three Quarter Stone" which looked impressive getting set up. They had a pull down banner and double bass drum! Pretty decent band, but their songs just kind of blended together for me. Nothing really stood out too much. Older guys who looked like they've been playing together for a while now.

The final opening band was "Angel of Fire" which was by far the most amusing. The age range would have been from 18-60, and there were about 6 guys. The singer had echo on his voice the entire time. There were some neat changes in their tunes, but again it all blended together. Their drummer had a wind chime solo which I got a hoot out of. They also had a 'one-handed' keyboard player there (i.e. doesn't play keyboards often).

Their last song they did some massive retuning of their instruments where the bass and drums had some mediocre stall filler. They wasted about an entire song, and seemed upset after they finished that song and the house music came on.

Blue Coupe! Here's the setlist:

  1. Fallen Angel
  2. Burnin' For You
  3. You (Like Vampires)
  4. Under My Wheels
  5. Cities on Flame
  6. Dark Boat - Joe solo song
  7. Caught in a Dream
  8. Astronomy
  9. Black Juju
  10. Hot Rails To Hell
  11. Waiting For My Ship
  12. The Red & The Black
  13. Pipeline-Wipeout
  14. Is it my body
  15. She Rips my Lips (Teenage Head)
  16. Godzilla
  17. School's Out
  18. E: Be My Lover
  19. E: Kick Out The Jams
  20. E: Reaper

Fallen Angel started with Albert coming on and doing the drum beat, with Dennis sauntering in on bass, and Joe eventually walking on. I found it effective. Great arrangement of this tune... better than the original by far in my opinion. Burnin' For You was fine... it'll always be a Buck tune though... I guess they're obliged to play it if they advertise themselves as founding BOC members. I must say that I really like Joe's voice.

I've fallen in love with You Like Vampires. So effective and hard hitting, and it gets in my head almost too often. Wonderful job writing this song guys... up there for the best song of the night.

Under My Wheels is probably my fav. Alice tune... quick, hard hitting and quirky. Dennis has so much fun on stage too, seems like he'd be a great guy to hang out with.

Cities: Man... it's such a toss up between Blue Coupe and BOC... Alberts vocal and drumming vs. Buck's lead work... if only, if only. Joe did a great job on this one though, and the trio really fills out the song nicely. Very heavy and very very very awesome.

Dark Boat was cool. Joe has an electric 12 string that he used for it. I listened to the lyric a lot, and it was very descriptive. Albert had mallets the entire song which gave it a really 'earthy' feel. It was a great song that builds and builds. Very well done. My only complaint was the placement of the song....in between Cities and Caught in a Dream. I was riding high from Cities, and wasn't ready to slow down like that.... but I'm glad I heard it. Makes me want to buy Joe's solo album :)

Speaking of Caught in a Dream... fun lyrics... song doesn't grab me much. There were a lot of Alice fans there that appreciated it though.

Astronomy - I'm torn. It's my favourite BOC song, but Blue Coupe really seemed to adopt the Metallica version of the song. It's awesome that Metallica covered the song, but I'd much rather hear it closer to the original. I'm not saying I didn't like it... I'm just saying that the spirit of the original song wasn't there. The heavy transition section was awesome though. Would love to see Joe do a developing solo at the end of this tune.

Black Juju - So awesome. Dennis has the theatrics of Alice in this one, and the song is so psychedelic. Love it to death!

Hot Rails - Never liked this song on the albums, never liked it at a BOC concert, but love Joe and Al doing this as Blue Coupe. I think this song is Joe's baby, and he does a wonderful job on guitar and vocal.

Waiting for My Ship - This song is hilarious. I love it. Dennis' voice on this one is great. Blue Coupe really has harmony work down too.

Red and Black - Cool! They take it at the same light-speed that they did on the old live albums. I still don't know the guy that came up to sing the second verse. Kinda weird. He was fine, good singer and everything, but there was no real introduction...he just ran on stage and started singing! I could have done that! Gord Lewis is an okay guitarist... fills out the sound well.

Pipeline-Wipeout - This might have came to be as a result of Denis' bass problems. They were doing some work around the bridge, I'm not sure what was happening. The tech guy ran off with the bass, and one of the opening bands lent Dennis his bass for the song. Wipeout went on for a while with more bass problems. Fitting.

Is it My Body - Another good tune..

She Rips My Lips - I'm not familiar with Teenage Head really... my understanding is that they were kind of southeastern Ontario's big band in the punk era. It doesn't do much for me, but a lot of locals dig Teenage Head. The guitarist from my understanding owns the bar in Hamilton Ontario "This Ain't Hollywood", which is where Blue Coupe is playing New Years Eve.

Zilla - Albert did the Japanese part. The other guy who I don't know was back. Highlight: Albert was having difficulty with the strobe system, so Dennis noodled for a while. Eventually Al got the strobes going, and the mask on, and did an awesome solo. I'm fairly confident he can't see out of that mask so what he does is pretty remarkable. I've seen this done about five times now, but it never fails to make me laugh and love the solo. Man... Albert is such a great drummer.

School's Out - They invited a girl up who "would appreciate this song" (which tells me she's a fellow teacher)... I think her name was Monica to sing the song. Not sure if she's related / spouse/ other. Blue Coupe does a really good job with this song...very full, very effective.

Be my Lover - My favourite part of this song is the very end with the out of key closing chords.

Kick out the Jams - High energy that matches SEE version! Great to hear it.

Reaper - Again... it's a Buck song to me. They do a great job with it, and the crowd loves it, but it'll always be a Buck tune for me.

OVERALL: I think I said it last time, but I left Blue Coupe being overly satisfied. They do so well together, and they are really enjoying themselves. And I'll stir the old pot of reunion, and say that the trio of Al, Joe and Buck... I could die happily.

Joe Bouchard has really become a front man though. His guitar work is getting better and better, and his vocal is so confident and powerful. Dennis is a riot, and an incredible player. Al... well... amazing. Love their interplay, and love the harmonies. If you haven't had a chance to see Blue Coupe, please see them. And... I'm pretty sure your setlist will be different than mine :)

Ralph

Here's a YouTube link from this show:

Dom Berard

The day before the Bastia show, the local promotor took us to a nice bar where a Jazz band was playing. Joe and Al went for a Jam. I didn't know Joe could play piano well.

Joe did Astronomy and went into Rider On The Storm in the middle of it. I didn't record what was a very scarce piece I believe.

They've played 3 Blue Coupe songs including a new one that will become a hit. Written by Dennis Dunaway. I didn't record it either, it will be on the forthcoming album that will be available latter in the year.

Joe Bouchard

Set List Corsica - Jazz Equinoxe:

  1. Red & Black intro - Under My Wheels
  2. Red & Black
  3. Cites
  4. You like Vampires
  5. Fallen Angel
  6. Burnin for You
  7. Is it my Body?
  8. Astronomy
  9. Angels Well
  10. Tattoo Vampire
  11. Caught in a Dream
  12. Gotta Fever
  13. Waiting for my Ship
  14. I'm 18
  15. Hot Rails
  16. Black JuJu
  17. Godzilla
  18. Schools Out
  19. E: Reaper
Aeon

Not 100% sure about the songs played last night. I have a doubt about one song I was not familiar with. Apart from this one, this is a pretty accurate setlist, I think (not the real running order, though):

Joe Bouchard

Set List Peymeinade:

  1. Kick out the Jams
  2. Be My Lover
  3. Cities
  4. Red & Black intro - Under My Wheels
  5. Red & Black
  6. Burnin for You
  7. You like Vampires
  8. Is it my Body?
  9. Astronomy
  10. Angels Well
  11. Gotta Fever
  12. I'm 18
  13. Hot Rails
  14. Black JuJu
  15. Godzilla
  16. Schools Out
  17. E: Roadhouse Blues
  18. E: Reaper
Dom Berard

Arles was a two set show that started with Fallen Angel (BDS version). I've played cowbell on the new song and on DFTR: No one can say I was out of tune ;-) I've cracked my trousers jumping off stage. That's what happens when I stay too long away from home...

It was a cool little trip in which there's been a lot of Rock'n'Roll and Food.

The Bouchard Bros & Dennis Dunaway rocks.

Here's a video clip:

Joe Bouchard

Yes, it was a great tour. We played a new song called "Gotta Fever" and, even though it was never heard in advance by our fans, they went nuts for it.

Set List Arles, France - Cargo de Nuit

  1. Fallen Angel
  2. Be My Lover
  3. Cities
  4. Angels Well
  5. Red & Black intro - Under My Wheels
  6. Red & Black
  7. Burnin for You
  8. You like Vampires
  9. Caught in a Dream
  10. Astronomy

(intermission)

  1. Gotta Fever
  2. I'm 18
  3. Hot Rails
  4. Love's a Killer
  5. Black JuJu
  6. Godzilla
  7. Schools Out
  8. E: Kick out the Jams
  9. E: Reaper

Here are youTube links to some of the songs from this gig:

Joe Bouchard

Here's the setlist from The Alice Cooper show Blue Coupe opened in Bethlehem.

The response was amazing. I think most of the audience was hip to who we were through the internet.

Gee, maybe that internet stuff will catch on?

For a short 45 minute set, we did 4 fairly new songs.

  1. Gotta Fever
  2. Burnin' for You
  3. You Like Vampires
  4. Cities on Flame
  5. Angel's Well
  6. Waiting for My Ship
  7. Astronomy
  8. Godzilla
  9. Reaper

I'm looking forward to opening the next Alice Cooper show in Pittsburgh on July 15, 2012.

Quick Gig Facts
Quick Gig Facts
Quick Gig Facts
David Halpern

I came across your site while searching for info on Blue Coupe. I saw them open for Alice Cooper this past Sunday evening (7/15/12) at Stage AE in Pittsburgh.

Here's the setlist:

  1. Burnin' for You
  2. You (Like Vampires)
  3. Cities on Flame with Rock and Roll
  4. Waiting for my Ship
  5. Angel's Well
  6. Gotta Fever
  7. Hot Rails to Hell
  8. Godzilla (including bass solo, drum solo while Albert Bouchard wears Godzilla head)
  9. (Don't Fear) The Reaper
Quick Gig Facts
Video

Here's a clip:

Mike Cairns

Setlist:

  1. Red and Black
  2. Under My Wheels
  3. Burning For You
  4. Be My Lover
  5. Cities on Flame
  6. Angel's Well
  7. Waiting for my Ship
  8. Desperado
  9. You Like Vampires
  10. Nosferatu
  11. Hot Rails
  12. Gotta Fever "Cowbell"
  13. Elected
  14. 18
  15. Godzilla
  16. School's Out
  17. Reaper
  18. Encore: Kick out the Jams

The Rockpile: Saw them there late last year. Great open venue, that is custom made for bands. From what I understand, other bands have to pay to play there, and sell tickets etc. It's a money making machine for bands who want exposure. I don't know if that's the way to go or not, but hey.

The three opening bands were all metal bands...

  1. Band 1) Probably the best of the three, they had a lot of pre recorded loops and parts which the drummer had going directly into his ear, so the sound was really full. Call me a purist, but I would much rather have the people actually playing their parts on stage. But the band was really tight, and the guitar player had some killer tone.
  2. Band 2) A long setup time for these guys. The lead guitar player was also the singer. They had their girlfriends dancing on the floor (alone), and they knew all the words! It wasn't a bad band, but it was really... mediocre. The guitarist had some pretty good shred licks going on, but their music didn't stand out at all.
  3. Band 3) "F Mary Kill". This band was amusing for the fact that they were a heavy metal band, with players that were a lot older. Their bass player had this awesome white goatee. The singer thought he was playing to a crowd of 10,000, where in reality it was only about 50. But they seemed to enjoy themselves up there. Nothing special really.

Blue Coupe
I'll say it again, seeing Albert and Joe play is like a blast from the past that I was never alive to witness. The charisma and pure enjoyment that these guys demonstrate on stage is phenomenal. Albert's playing is really unmatched in my opinion, and Joe has really moved in to the front man role well. There were times where the sound was a bit thin on the BOC songs, but that's the way it goes when you're a trio... sometimes you have to sacrifice power chords for solos. Dennis is really good at making the sound full though.

Song wise, the standout songs for me were the actual Blue Coupe songs. I've really taken to You Like Vampires and Angel's Well, and these guys just nail it. Albert and Dennis hitting the shots on You Like Vampires is super powerful and awesome. In Angel's Well, it's great how they all hit the harmonies, and Kudos' always to Albert behind the kit rocking the vocals and harmonies.

The new Cowbell song is a riot. It's 100% tongue-in-cheek the whole way with a catchy shout back from the audience. Blue Coupe sells cowbells that they all sign too!

Though I've heard Nosferatu played by them before, this is always a fun one to hear. I miss the piano in it, but my brain fills it in for me. Hearing Joe sing this is great. Speaking of Joe singing BOC .. though I'm not usually inclined to listen to Hot Rails, Blue Coupe does a smoking version of it, and again, it's great to hear Joe singing his own song (and Albert on Cities!)

After the show, the guys came out and did photos and autographs and schmoozing. It was a real fun time, and I snapped a few pictures with the guys, and picked up Joe's new solo album as well. It's the first CD I think I've bought in 6 years!

Great band, and again, if you have the chance to see them, DO IT!

Quick Gig Facts
Joe Bouchard

Providence Set List 8-25-12:

  1. Under My Wheels
  2. Burnin for You
  3. Be My Lover
  4. Cites on Flame
  5. Caught in a Dream
  6. Angels Well
  7. Black juju
  8. You like Vampires
  9. Tattoo Vampire
  10. Waiting for My Ship
  11. Astronomy
  12. Elected
  13. Godzilla
  14. More Cowbell
  15. Schools Out
  16. Reaper
  17. E: I'm 18. (w John guest guitar)

Really good crowd with lots of fanatics. One young woman brought a Tattoo Vampire sign. She had Buck and Eric sign it at their last gig in RI. Buck added "Sorry" implying they didn't know it. Well, right then and there BC added it to the setlist. The woman and her friends freaked when we played it. It's a good song, that needed a little dusting off. Astronomy was another highlight.

Bob Smith

Blue Coupe played in NYC last nite at The Canal Room. Set list by memory

  1. Under my Wheels
  2. Burnin for you
  3. Is it my Body
  4. You Like Vampires
  5. Gotta Fever - More Cowbell
  6. I`m Eighteen
  7. Cities on Flame
  8. Schools Out
  9. Don't Fear the Reaper

The Cringe headlined but I did not stay for them...

Quick Gig Facts
Joe Bouchard

Bowery Electric Set List - Blue Coupe - Nov 9, 2012:

  1. Cities on Flame
  2. Burnin' for You
  3. I'm 18
  4. Hot Rails to Hell
  5. The Party Starts Now! with Andy Shernoff guest vocal
  6. More Cowbell
  7. Reaper
Quick Gig Facts
Edosaurus

A kick ass show! Rick Tedesco came up and ripped on guitar for two tunes. The new song More Cowbell rocks live, sure to be a fan favorite at the shows.

Here is the set list.

  1. Caught In A Dream
  2. Burnin For You
  3. Cities On Flame
  4. Under My Wheels
  5. Eighteen (with Rick Tedesco)
  6. School's Out (RT)
  7. More Cowbell
  8. Don't Fear The Reaper

Here are some video clips:

Joe Bouchard

Thanks, Ed. Nice clip. That stage was big, but we filled it with sound. We need about 30 Marshall stacks behind us. That would be frightening, really!

That's David playing the cowbell. His dad played in one of the other bands. There is an art to playing the cowbell and David nailed it! :)

Quick Gig Facts
Joe Bouchard

Here's the setlist:

  1. The Red & The Black
  2. Be My Lover
  3. Cities on Flame
  4. Burnin' For You
  5. You (Like Vampires)
  6. Black Juju
  7. I'm Eighteen
  8. School's Out
  9. More Cowbell
  10. (Don't Fear) The Reaper
  11. Kick Out The Jams
  12. Godzilla
  13. Hot Rails to Hell
Quick Gig Facts
Joe Bouchard

Andy Hilfiger will be sitting in for Dennis, since he's out of town. Dennis's father passed away this week.

Dennis will be back on Sunday and expects to be back in the saddle with Blue Coupe for the Frankie's Friends benefit on Tuesday at the Cutting Room.

See you all soon!

Quick Gig Facts
Joe Bouchard

A great time was had by all!

Not a long set since there were many performers earlier in the night. Tish and Snooky sang with Blue Coupe for all of our tunes.

  1. You (Like Vampires)
  2. Burnin' For You
  3. I'm Eighteen
  4. School's Out

Set 2 (3 songs - 13:20)

  1. O Come All Ye Faithful (with famous writer Michael Musto on vocals)
  2. I Wanna Be Your Dog (with Michael Houghton on vocals)
  3. (Don't Fear) The Reaper (with May Pang on cowbell, and many guests)

Emmylou Harris and Steve Earle played acoustic sets before us.

Emmylou was fantastic. Her song called Big Black Dog, a song about her rescue dog, put tears in a lot of eyes.

Then Steve Earle a personal favorite, absolutely killed the packed audience with a set of brilliant songs including Copperhead Road.

Emmylou and Steve sang a duet to end the acoustic part of the night.

It was great to be included in such group a diverse performers, but somehow it all worked and the benefit was very successful.

Here's a video clip:

Quick Gig Facts
Joe Bouchard

Marton Hotel, 8:00 PM-11:00 PM - 15 songs - 1:16:00

  1. Under My Wheels
  2. Cities on Flame
  3. Be My Lover
  4. Burnin' For You
  5. Fallen Angel
  6. You (Like Vampires)
  7. Nosferatu
  8. The Red & The Black
  9. I'm Eighteen
  10. Astronomy
  11. More Cowbell
  12. Godzilla
  13. School's Out
  14. (Don't Fear) The Reaper
  15. Kick Out The Jams
John Hall

Last year I sent my AC CDs to Dennis to have them signed and had to pay a considerable sum for the priviledge. I did it because I knew I'd never have the chance to meet him in person.

I also have my BOC stuff signed by Buck and Eric (and one by Buck, Eric and Allen).

When I subsequently learned that Blue Coupe were not only coming to the UK but were going to play a hotel ballroom and a village hall both within 30 miles of me I thought the world had gone mad.

I expected to see a good gig, but I also felt I had to go if even to just get a chance to meet the guys. I knew Joe started out as a guitar player before switching to bass for BOC so he would play guitar, with Dennis on bass and Albert on drums.

I have to say I was blown away just how great they were. Black Sabbath will have to go some if they're to beat this as best gig of 2013!!!

The guys were really cool as well. Got everything signed and photos no bother.

Fantastic set - and I was amazed at just how good a guitarist Joe is! I thought they might struggle a bit recreating songs like Nosferatu and Astronomy as a 3 piece with just one guitar and no keyboards but they were superb!

The guys had a load of fun too - Joe jumping off the stage and running round the whole room playing solos - even up to the bar.

There may have only been about a hundred people in what was probably a 1000 capacity venue but it was great!

Fantastic set list!

  1. Under My Wheels
  2. Cities On Flame (Albert vocals)
  3. Be My Lover
  4. Burning For You
  5. Fallen Angel
  6. You Like Vampires (new song)
  7. Nosferatu (request of a fan - not normally played!)
  8. The Red And The Black
  9. I'm Eighteen
  10. Astronomy
  11. More Cowbell (new song) (Dennis vocals)
  12. Godzilla/Dennis bass solo/Albert drum solo/Godzilla
  13. Schools Out
  14. (Don't Fear) The Reaper
  15. Kick Out The Jams (MC5 song)

Joe lead vocals on most.

The support band "Early Mac" - a Peter Green era Fleetwood Mac covers band from Leeds who were really good.

External Review
Quick Gig Facts
Joe Bouchard

Hertford, 8:00 PM-11:00 PM - 18 songs - 1:45:58

Set 1 (9 songs - 49:27)

  1. The Red & The Black [ 4:24 ]
  2. You (Like Vampires) [ 3:29 ]
  3. No More Mr. Nice Guy [ 3:07 ]
  4. Burnin' For You [ 4:31 ]
  5. Angel's Well [ 3:29 ]
  6. Is It My Body [ 2:39 ]
  7. Astronomy [ 6:15 ]
  8. Cities on Flame [ 4:27 ]
  9. Roadhouse Blues [ 9:06 ]

Set 2 (9 songs - 41:31)

  1. Under My Wheels [ 2:46 ]
  2. I'm Eighteen [ 3:00 ]
  3. Hot Rails to Hell [ 5:08 ]
  4. Desperado [ 3:06 ]
  5. More Cowbell [ 2:55 ]
  6. Godzilla [ 5:00 ]
  7. School's Out [ 3:31 ]
  8. (Don't Fear) The Reaper [ 5:05 ]
  9. Born To Be Wild [ 4:00 ]
Pete Hough

Great gig. I have been a BoC fan since childhood and couldn't believe that the Bouchard's were coming to my local venue.

The band were excellent and I loved every minute of it. The Red and the Black was brilliant as an opener and the whole show had me singing along.

The turn out was a bit dissapointing but I don't think it put the band off. If it did they didn't show it.

Thanks for a great and nostalgic evening.

Videos

Here are some clips:

Quick Gig Facts
Joe Bouchard

Hessle (Hull) Town Hall, 9:30 PM-11:00 PM - 16 songs - 1:41:37

Set 1 (13 songs - 1:14:01)

  1. Fallen Angel [ 5:04 ]
  2. Be My Lover [ 3:21 ]
  3. Burnin' For You [ 4:31 ]
  4. Cities on Flame [ 4:27 ]
  5. Elected [ 3:43 ]
  6. You (Like Vampires) [ 3:29 ]
  7. Dark Boat [ 10:56 ]
  8. Hot Rails to Hell [ 5:08 ]
  9. Nosferatu [ 5:00 ]
  10. Under My Wheels [ 2:46 ]
  11. Godzilla [ 5:00 ]
  12. School's Out [ 3:31 ]
  13. (Don't Fear) The Reaper [ 5:05 ]

    Encore (3 songs - 12:36)

  14. The Red & The Black [ 4:24 ]
  15. I'm Eighteen [ 3:00 ]
  16. Kick Out The Jams [ 3:12 ]
Shaun Starkings

This was a weird experience for me but in a great way. I've been a BOC fan for years and saw them in 1989 in Hull with Eric, Buck and Allan and this was my chance to see Joe and Albert. The crowd was obviously a mix of BOC and Alice Cooper fans with a few there of of curiosity and I just wish there was more at the front!

Joe started the gig off playing down the middle of the audience and came down to play twice more during the show. We had a great mix of music from BOC and Alice Cooper with "you like vampires" and Joe's own "dark boat".

Alberts drumming was spot on throughout and hearing "cities on flame" brought a wave of nostalgia and a tear to the eye! Not forgetting Dennis whose bass playing and humour was another highlight for me.

I'll never forget "hot rails to hull (hell) and Joe playing "don't fear the reaper" in front of me in the audience. Thanks guys i loved it and I hope you return one day.

Videos

Here are some video clips:

Quick Gig Facts
Joe Bouchard

Mickleton Blues Club UK #4 1/26/13, 9:00 PM-11:00 PM - 18 songs - 1:52:07

This was a very fun gig. Peter Gallus sat in on 4 of the Alice songs, I'm 18, no more mr nice guy, is it my body, and schools out.

For the encore we did Wild Thing with tour manager Chris Allen who's other job is singing with the latest version of the Troggs. It got a standing ovation.

Set 1 (11 songs - 50:53):

  1. The Red & The Black [ 4:24 ]
  2. Under My Wheels [ 2:46 ]
  3. Cities on Flame [ 4:27 ]
  4. Burnin' For You [ 4:31 ]
  5. Desperado [ 3:06 ]
  6. No More Mr. Nice Guy [ 3:07 ]
  7. Is It My Body [ 2:39 ]
  8. Astronomy [ 6:15 ]
  9. Caught In A Dream [ 3:09 ]
  10. You (Like Vampires) [ 3:29 ]
  11. I'm Eighteen [ 3:00 ]

Set 2 (6 songs - 28:14):

  1. I Ain't Got You [ 3:00 ]
  2. Elected [ 3:43 ]
  3. More Cowbell [ 2:55 ]
  4. Godzilla [ 5:00 ]
  5. School's Out [ 3:31 ]
  6. (Don't Fear) The Reaper [ 5:05 ]

    Encore (1 song - 3:00)

  7. WILD THING! [ 3:00 ]
John Hall

Mickleton R'n'B Club - Mickleton Old School House/Village Hall, Teesside (This is in the sticks!)

This was fantastic. A tiny village hall miles from anywhere, capacity 100, with beer and wine, bar open til midnight and pie and mushy peas supper!

Sold out audience aged from 5 to 75 consisting of local farming families with grandparents and grandkids, a fair few "retired" hippies doing art or pottery type stuff in the country, and a handful of both Alice and BOC enthusiasts following the tour round the country - including some from foreign climes!

Support from a local kid on guitar and vocals doing Rolling Stones, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Led Zeppelin and Thin Lizzy covers with a karaoke machine! And then Rock And Roll Hall Of Famer Dennis Dunaway with half of Blue Oyster Cult!

One of the best moments of the night was the look on Joe Bouchard's face when he came to the kitchen to get a bottle of water while the food was being served and he set his eyes on the mushy peas!

Fantastic show! And check out the set list then compare it to Wednesday's!!

Set One:

  1. The Red and The Black
  2. Under My Wheels
  3. Cities On Flame
  4. Burning For You
  5. Desperado
  6. No More Mr Nice Guy
  7. Is It My Body
  8. Astronomy
  9. Caught In A Dream
  10. You (Like Vampires)
  11. I'm Eighteen

Pie and Mushy Peas break!!

Set Two:

  1. Maserati GT (I Ain't Got You)
  2. Elected
  3. More Cowbell
  4. Godzilla/bass solo/drum solo/Godzilla
  5. School's Out
  6. (Don't Fear) The Reaper
  7. Wild Thing (with tour manager - ex Troggs vocalist - on vocals)
Videos

Here are some video clips:

Quick Gig Facts
Joe Bouchard

Rock and Blues Festival, Skegness UK #5 1/27/13, 9:00 PM-11:00 PM - 13 songs - 1:22:39

Biggest crowd of the tour so far. Sold out!

Set 1 (11 songs - 1:00:41)

  1. The Red & The Black [ 4:24 ]
  2. Burnin' For You [ 4:31 ]
  3. You (Like Vampires) [ 3:29 ]
  4. Black Juju [ 9:11 ]
  5. Cities on Flame [ 4:27 ]
  6. I'm Eighteen [ 3:00 ]
  7. Hot Rails to Hell [ 5:08 ]
  8. More Cowbell [ 2:55 ]
  9. Godzilla [ 5:00 ]
  10. School's Out [ 3:31 ]
  11. (Don't Fear) The Reaper [ 5:05 ]

    Encore (2 songs - 6:58)

  12. Under My Wheels [ 2:46 ]
  13. Kick Out The Jams [ 3:12 ]
Video

Here's a clip:

External Review
Albert Bouchard

So sorry about tonight's gig in York being cancelled. We were looking forward to playing songs we'd never played before. Maybe tomorrow...

They had technical problems that prevented them from fulfilling our contract.

Albert Bouchard

Tonight's show at the Yardbird is also off.

Quick Gig Facts
Joe Bouchard

BILSTON, Robin 2 UK #6 1/30/13, 8:30 PM-10:30 PM - 17 songs - 1:19:52

Set 1 (14 songs - 1:05:02)

  1. Angel's Well [ 3:29 ]
  2. I'm Eighteen [ 3:00 ]
  3. Be My Lover [ 3:21 ]
  4. Caught In A Dream [ 3:09 ]
  5. Cities on Flame [ 4:27 ]
  6. You (Like Vampires) [ 3:29 ]
  7. Burnin' For You [ 4:31 ]
  8. Desperado [ 3:06 ]
  9. Waiting For My Ship [ 3:52 ]
  10. Nosferatu [ 5:00 ]
  11. No More Mr. Nice Guy [ 3:07 ]
  12. More Cowbell [ 2:55 ]
  13. (Don't Fear) The Reaper [ 5:05 ]
  14. School's Out [ 3:31 ]

    Encore (3 songs - 12:50)

  15. I Ain't Got You [ 3:00 ]
  16. Fallen Angel [ 5:04 ]
  17. Under My Wheels [ 2:46 ]
Video

Here are some clips:

Ralph

Damn! Nosferatu was played!! This was the gig I was planning to go to, but finances dictated otherwise, unfortunately.

Because the two previous gigs had been cancelled, I had been trying to make sure the gig was deffo on before I travelled - but my emails to the venue - as well as to some other places - had gone unanswered.

So the night before I just thought "Sod it - I might as well go ahead and book the train anyway, and take the chance everything's OK"...

Except.... the sodding train prices had more than trebled in the space of ten minutes - one minute before midnight, I could just about afford it, ten minutes later (after bloody midnight), I couldn't... b*stards!!

In my naive world, the closer you get to the departure date and you have tickets still available - especially for off-peak travel - the cheaper they should get to encourage a bigger take-up, but apparently not... it seems to go the other way...

Damn it...

Nosferatu...

Damn...

Quick Gig Facts
Joe Bouchard

The Mill, Banbury UK #7 1/31/13, 9:00 PM-11:00 PM - 16 songs - 1:36:01

Set 1 (13 songs - 1:14:01)

  1. Elected [ 3:43 ]
  2. Burnin' For You [ 4:31 ]
  3. You (Like Vampires) [ 3:29 ]
  4. Cities on Flame [ 4:27 ]
  5. Desperado [ 3:06 ]
  6. Black Juju [ 9:11 ]
  7. No More Mr. Nice Guy [ 3:07 ]
  8. Dark Boat [ 10:56 ]
  9. More Cowbell [ 2:55 ]
  10. I'm Eighteen [ 3:00 ]
  11. Godzilla [ 5:00 ]
  12. School's Out [ 3:31 ]
  13. (Don't Fear) The Reaper [ 5:05 ]

    Encore (3 songs - 19:00)

  14. Roadhouse Blues [ 9:06 ]
  15. Hot Rails to Hell [ 5:08 ]
  16. Under My Wheels [ 2:46 ]
Ziggy Rokita

I had every intention of attending Blue Coupe's first ever visit to the UK, but the fact that the Hot Rails To Hull tour was localised pretty much in the north of England made the notion of a mid-week return journey from London a little challenging. Fortunately the addition to the schedule of the Mill Auditorium in Banbury made their visit more accommodating - that is until I joined the westbound queue out of London - an accident on the A40 meant that traffic was crawling, and it took an hour to move just one or two miles. Fortunately my gig companion Ray was still at the agreed meeting point when I arrived an hour overdue and we reached the venue just in time to see the support act hit the boards.

Apparently Molly Perkins is usually a full band, but the singer/guitarist/songwriter (not sure if Molly Perkins is her name!) looks uncannily like CSI character Sara Sidle. She has the voice and dress sense of All About Eve's Julianne Regan, which is no bad thing in my mind. After a strong solo start she's joined by "John", who serves up some tasty acoustic lead to accompany her. They play around eight or nine songs, towards the end of which the Bouchard brothers stand in the shadows to check them out. All-in-all, a lovely set of songs and a strong performance.

With no announcement, Joe makes his way to the stage, plugs in, starts fine-tuning his amp and waits for Albert to finalise his adjustments to his kit. Dennis jumps onstage and moments after they launch into the intro to (Don't Fear) The Reaper, which after a few bars morphs into Elected.

From the get-go the band are full of energy and (especially in Dennis' case) bounce - running around the stage and playing to the hundred or so people in the hall as if they were playing to thousands!

Within moments of Burnin' For You starting I remembered how special Albert's drumming was, and how (with no disrespect to Rick Downey) I missed those first few shows without Albert being in BOC - he was in great form!

A quick "hello" and a welcome to the seventh night of the tour and a mention from Dennis that it had been Albert's son who had directed the video and they play You (Like Vampires). Let's face it, the Blue Coupe debut is a great album and sits alongside their back catalogue brilliantly! Another introduction from Dennis and they launch into Cities On Flame - I'm transported to Hammersmith Odeon, May 1978 when I first saw him sing it. I've seen countless versions since, but I'm sure this is one of the best ever!

Denis takes the lead on Desperado after having told the audience that he's bleak, real "Dr. Dreary" and then No More Mr. Nice Guy, which gets the audience singing along. The darkness of Joe's Dark Boat is replaced with More Cowbell. Although it is unlikely to ever be one of my favourites, it does get the audience participation to high.

Albert's featured cowbell work is then surpassed with his playing the harmonica and singing while drumming on I'm Eighteen - it's incredible to watch! So too is the fact that the band can fill in when there are technical difficulties; Joe's cordless lead plays up after he plays solos from the audience side of the venue, while he's changing leads the bass and percussion go into a world of their own, as if it had been planned that way.

"More beer" is the chant that accompanies Godzilla. When reaching the bass solo Dennis states that his solo depicts the life of 'Zilla. He accompanies a series of high notes with a monologue describing the mythological creature when first born as being "cute" and ends up a few minutes later with some dirty bass lines by the time that 'Zilla is grown up and becomes "an asshole"- a new approach to something that I've seen numerous times.

Tapping from the back of the venue turns out to be Albert playing the wooden floor with his sticks - running around the audience wearing a Godzilla mask, he taps a few beats out on the side of the stage before jumping up to beat the crap out of his kit! A lively crowd accompany Schools Out, which is swiftly followed by Reaper and they are off.

Roadhouse Blues is the first of the encore tunes. It's pretty much the version that appears on the Extraterrestrial Live album until Joe starts ad-libbing the words to Spoonful before having the audience change the chorus from "got myself a beer" to "pint of beer". An energetic, bass heavy Hot Rails is followed by Under My Wheels, a "thank you" and an invitation to meet afterwards.

Whilst waiting in the foyer a guy who I met at the cancelled New York gig recognised me from the commiseration drink that we had near to the Broadway venue where the show was to have taken place. It sounds like I was one of the lucky few, who made it out of the city (on the very last flight before Hurricane Sandy hit!) as he was stranded for days and ended up driving to Boston to get a flight back home. I recounted my story to Albert who was delighted that the rescheduling meant that Joe was able to get back so that the original lineup could play together. That said, he did also mention that it had meant that Patti Smith was unable to make the show for a duet with him on of Career Of Evil. We talked about the crowd-pleasing set that they had just played and Albert mentioned that they had even joked about playing the whole of Killer and then Spectres one after another. I said I loved the idea!

Joe, as when I met him before, was friendly and after I bought three of his albums, thanked me for making his suitcase so much lighter for the way home. Dennis too was great company. All three were happy to chat and sign albums, posters and the like.

Now all I have to do is see if anybody recorded the show!

Ziggy Rokita - 1st February 2013

External Review
Video

Here's a clip:

Ralph

Reportedly cancelled by the promoter due to low ticket sales...

What? So there's not a massive Blue Coupe fanbase in Corby? You do surprise me...

Albert Bouchard

We are having a meet and greet and jam session with local musicians at the Key Street Club in Clitheroe on Friday night instead. Free.

Joe Bouchard

Just to clarify, this Friday night event is not a full concert gig. We're just jamming and meeting fans.

We will be doing the full show on Sunday at the Grand Theatre in Clitheroe.

Dennis Dunaway

England had been hit with two consecutive snow storms and heavy rain and flooding was in the forecast so people were reluctant to buy tickets in advance.

Joe Bouchard

Key Street Pub Jam 2/1/13, 10:00 PM-12:15 AM - 17 songs - 1:37:33

Set 1 (8 songs - 41:06)

  1. Ain't Got You [ 3:00 ]
  2. Baby Please Dont Go [ 3:00 ]
  3. Godzilla [ 5:00 ]
  4. Matchbox / Blue Suede [ 4:00 ]
  5. WILD THING! [ 3:00 ]
  6. Born To Be Wild [ 4:00 ]
  7. I'm Eighteen [ 3:00 ]
  8. Roadhouse Blues [ 9:06 ]

Set 2 (9 songs - 41:27)

  1. Use Somebody [ 4:25 ]
  2. The Last Time [ 4:00 ]
  3. Mississippi Queen [ 4:00 ]
  4. Come Together [ 4:00 ]
  5. Dead Flowers [ 3:35 ]
  6. School's Out [ 3:31 ]
  7. Ain't Dead [ 3:29 ]
  8. I Wanna Be Your Dog [ 3:15 ]
  9. Kick Out The Jams [ 3:12 ]
Video

Here are some video clips:

Quick Gig Facts
Joe Bouchard

Jersey Opera House UK #8 2/2/13, 9:00 PM-11:00 PM - 15 songs - 1:23:51

Sitting in with Blue Coupe was Giles Robson UK harmonica virtuoso on 18, I Ain't Got You, and Roadhouse Blues

Set 1 (12 songs - 1:04:59)

  1. Burnin' For You [ 4:31 ]
  2. I'm Eighteen [ 3:00 ]
  3. Cities on Flame [ 4:27 ]
  4. Desperado [ 3:06 ]
  5. Ain't Dead In No Water [ 3:29 ]
  6. Astronomy [ 6:15 ]
  7. You (Like Vampires) [ 3:29 ]
  8. Black Juju [ 9:11 ]
  9. More Cowbell [ 2:55 ]
  10. Godzilla [ 5:00 ]
  11. School's Out [ 3:31 ]
  12. (Don't Fear) The Reaper [ 5:05 ]

    Encore (3 songs - 16:52)

  13. Under My Wheels [ 2:46 ]
  14. I Ain't Got You [ 3:00 ]
  15. Roadhouse Blues [ 9:06 ]
Video

Here are some clips:

And some photos:

Quick Gig Facts
Joe Bouchard

The Grand Clitheroe w/ The Animals 2/3/13, 8:00 PM-11:00 PM - 12 songs - 56:18

Set 1 (11 songs - 50:57)

  1. Under My Wheels [ 2:46 ]
  2. You (Like Vampires) [ 3:29 ]
  3. Burnin' For You [ 4:31 ]
  4. No More Mr. Nice Guy [ 3:07 ]
  5. Desperado [ 3:06 ]
  6. Cities on Flame [ 4:27 ]
  7. Nosferatu [ 5:00 ]
  8. More Cowbell [ 2:55 ]
  9. I'm Eighteen [ 3:00 ]
  10. School's Out [ 3:31 ]
  11. (Don't Fear) The Reaper [ 5:05 ]

    Encore (1 song - 3:21)

  12. Be My Lover [ 3:21 ]
Video

Here's a clip:

Martin Varley

I made it to two of the Blue Coupe UK shows: Bilston and Clitheroe, both great shows with a few BOC and AC songs and also some from Tornado on the Tracks.

Somehow Blue Coupe played last at Clitheroe despite the main band being billed as the Animals on the tickets and publicity....I thought this worked out well for Blue Coupe fans, best band last (although it did mess up my travel arrangements to get home!).

I enjoyed both shows, great atmosphere and good to be able to see the band close up. I was in email contact with Albert a couple of times during and after the tour, here's some comments from him about the UK tour and possibility of another visit to these shores (he has given his permission for me to send these to you for the website):

Albert Bouchard

Albert Bouchard wrote:
Thank you Martin. It was a great tour for us. We really enjoyed ourselves and we succeeded in getting the word out about our mash-up of a group.

We hope to come back to many of these venues soon as all of them expressed an interest in having us back. We were handsomely compensated for our bother so they need just say the word and we will be booking our flights.

I had a camera on my mic stand that I used mainly to record More Cowbell which we already have a nice video for but lacked any kind of audience shots. Hopefully I will have acquired enough of these to complete the video.

For now we have turned our attention back to the record we are making with Jack Douglas and hope to have it out by April as we have said.

Thanks,
Al

Quick Gig Facts
Joe Bouchard

We had a great time at the show. It was great seeing many friends and fans. Tish and Snooky sounded particularly great on backing vocals.

The band played great including FIVE brand new songs, four of them premiered for the first time. Here's the set list:

Set 1 (12 songs - 58:15):

  1. Under My Wheels
  2. You (Like Vampires)
  3. Devil's Highway
  4. Burnin' For You
  5. Cities on Flame
  6. Astronomy
  7. Desperado
  8. Ride with Me
  9. Godzilla
  10. Be My Lover
  11. No More Mr. Nice Guy
  12. Elected

Set 2 (6 songs - 27:06):

  1. Hellfire Hurry
  2. I'm Eighteen
  3. More Cowbell
  4. Hallow's Grave
  5. School's Out
  6. (Don't Fear) The Reaper

    Encore (2 songs - 9:37)

  7. Hot Rails to Hell
  8. Ain't Dead In No Water
Quick Gig Facts
Joe Bouchard

The Yam Jam show was very professionally-recorded supposedly for Rhode Island Public TV. The promoter assured me I'll get a DVD copy and when I do I'll be posting clips on YouTube.

It was a fairly well played and solid sounding show, so it should be good on video when it's ready.

Set List Yam Jam RI
May 18, 2013

  1. Under My Wheels
  2. Cities on Flame
  3. Burnin' For You
  4. You (Like Vampires)
  5. Hallow's Grave
  6. I'm Eighteen
  7. Godzilla
  8. More Cowbell
  9. School's Out
  10. (Don't Fear) The Reaper

We had to cut a few songs for time. There were a lot of bands and everyone was given about 45 minutes. We'll play longer next time.

Video

Here's a clip:

Joe Bouchard

INFINITY HALL SET LIST

Set 1 (19 songs - 1:32:44)

  1. Prophets Dukes and Nomads
  2. Under My Wheels
  3. Cities on Flame
  4. Hallow's Grave
  5. You (Like Vampires)
  6. Burnin' For You
  7. Everybody Goes Insane
  8. Hellfire Hurry
  9. Caught In A Dream
  10. Joan Crawford
  11. I'll Forever Stick Around
  12. Modern Love (Stalking Time)
  13. Astronomy
  14. Supernatural Love
  15. I'm Eighteen
  16. Used Car
  17. Godzilla
  18. Ain't Dead
  19. School's Out

    Encore (6 songs - 26:51)

  20. More Cowbell
  21. Be My Lover
  22. I Ain't Got You
  23. Ride with Me
  24. Devil's Highway
  25. (Don't Fear) The Reaper

We played 12 out of the 13 new songs on the album. Train of Thought was not played mostly because we needed a piano player for the break (Where is Allen?). I've never played so many new songs at one gig and the response was great for everything.

Thanks to all the fans who came to the show. It was a thrill playing in a great room with great sound.

Joe Bouchard

Since there were only two acts we got to play a generous setlist. Great full house of many hardcore fans. Best show of the tour so far.

  1. Prophets Dukes and Nomads
  2. Be My Lover
  3. Under My Wheels
  4. Cities on Flame
  5. Burnin' For You
  6. You (Like Vampires)
  7. Hallow's Grave
  8. Everybody Goes Insane
  9. Hellfire Hurry
  10. Caught In A Dream
  11. Desperado
  12. I'll Forever Stick Around
  13. Modern Love (Stalking Time)
  14. Supernatural Love
  15. Black Juju
  16. I'm Eighteen
  17. Used Car
  18. Godzilla
  19. Ain't Dead
  20. School's Out

    Encores:

  21. Ride with Me
  22. Hot Rails to Hell
  23. More Cowbell
  24. Devil's Highway
  25. (Don't Fear) The Reaper
Joe Bouchard

The Bull Run setlist - and that's no Bull!

Set 1 (20 songs - 1:35:23):

  1. Prophets Dukes and Nomads
  2. Be My Lover
  3. Under My Wheels
  4. Cities on Flame
  5. Burnin' For You
  6. You (Like Vampires)
  7. Hallow's Grave
  8. Caught In A Dream
  9. Angel's Well
  10. Used Car
  11. Dance The Night Away (Lanier)
  12. Joan Crawford
  13. I'll Forever Stick Around
  14. Modern Love (Stalking Time)
  15. Astronomy
  16. I'm Eighteen
  17. Supernatural Love
  18. Hot Rails to Hell
  19. Godzilla
  20. School's Out

    Encore (3 songs - 13:45):

  21. Ride with Me
  22. More Cowbell
  23. (Don't Fear) The Reaper
Joe Bouchard

All of the bands did short sets. Lots of great performances.

We did "I'm Going Slightly Mad" into "Everybody Goes Insane" from Million Miles More.

Then we did "Sail Away Sweet Sister" and finished with "It's Late."

Video

Here are a few clips:

Video

Here are a few clips:

Joe Bouchard

Joe Bouchard We had a great jam at Brian's Backyard BBQ on New Years Eve.

Dennis Dunaway played No More Mr. Nice Guy with Greg singing. Greg Smith played I'm Eighteen with Blue Coupe.

I played Free's Alright Now with Derek St Holmes and much more until late in the night. I was a great time!

Quick Gig Facts
Joe Bouchard

The set list for the curious.

Set 1 (8:00 pm-8:59 pm):

  1. You (Like Vampires)
  2. Caught In A Dream
  3. Be My Lover
  4. Burnin' For You
  5. Angel's Well
  6. Everybody Goes Insane
  7. No More Mr. Nice Guy
  8. The Red & The Black
  9. Used Car
  10. I'm Eighteen
  11. Is It My Body
  12. You Drive Me Nervous (with Nick Didkovsky)
  13. Black Juju (with Nick Didkovsky)
  14. Under My Wheels (with Nick Didkovsky)

    Set 2 (9:14 pm-9:40 pm) ACOUSTIC SET:

  15. Death Valley Nights
  16. Desperado
  17. Astronomy
  18. Ballad Of Dwight Fry
  19. Generation Landslide

    Set 3 (9:55 pm-10:49 pm)

  20. 3rd Stone From The Sun (Jimi Hendrix cover)
  21. Fallen Angel
  22. Long Way To Go
  23. Pet Sematary (Ramones cover)
  24. More Cowbell
  25. Cities on Flame (with Ross the Boss)
  26. Godzilla (with Ross the Boss)
  27. Hallow's Grave
  28. School's Out (with Ross the Boss)
  29. (Don't Fear) The Reaper (with Ross the Boss)
  30. Encores - Kick Out The Jams (with Ross the Boss)
  31. Hot Rails to Hell (with Ross the Boss)
Quick Gig Facts
Joe Bouchard

It was great! Three songs where everybody sang really loud. Pet Seminary, Rock and Roll High School and School's Out. Great night!

Quick Gig Facts
Quick Gig Facts
Quick Gig Facts
Quick Gig Facts

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum will welcome Dennis Dunaway of the Alice Cooper Group for a Hall of Fame Series interview on Saturday, June 20, 2015 at 7pm in the Museum's Foster Theater.

During the interview, Dunaway will discuss his newest book Snakes! Guillotines! Electric Chairs!: My Adventures in The Alice Cooper Group (to be released June 9, 2015).

Dunaway will also be joined onstage for a short acoustic performance with special guests Michael Bruce (the Alice Cooper Group) and Joe and Albert Bouchard of Blue Oyster Cult.

Following the program, Dunaway will answer questions from the audience and participate in a book signing. Books will be available for purchase.

Quick Gig Facts
Quick Gig Facts
Quick Gig Facts
Quick Gig Facts
Quick Gig Facts
Quick Gig Facts
Nick Didkovsky

The songs I played on are: First Set: Be My Lover to the end; Second Set: everything except Godzilla and Hallow's Grave.